Day 2: Crabby Patty

It’s dark and gloomy out. Waking up is hard, and even harder now that I don’t have my routine coffee or tea (usually may way of making sure I get at least 2 servings of dairy or alternatives in per day). My head feels just as heavy as the clouds in the sky today. Possibly related to the weather, but most likely a result of ‘hangriness’ (hungry and angry) kicking in.

0820h – Breakfast: a measly cup of large rolled oats, cooked with water on the stove -the old fashion way. I regret not picking up peanut butter, or a banana… Seems to be all I can think of these days. Did I just say that? It’s only second day today, but it feels longer. To fill up more, I threw in 3/4 cup of yogurt and brought a hard-boiled egg with me. After how hungry I got at 1030h yesterday, I tried to hold out until as late as I could and decided to eat as I got to work. Saved my boiled egg for later, I knew I’d be hungry before noon, and it’s important to have fuel to work during the day. Sure enough, by 1100h, I needed that snack. Oatmeal this morning held me out for longer than the 2 slices of bread yesterday.

I had to pack lunch and supper today as I figured I’d be home late:

IMG_0535.JPG.jpeg

1220h – Lunch: I took my time finishing things up at work. It was too hard finishing my lunch so quickly and sitting there seeing all the food my colleague’s still had in front of them. 20 past, I heated my quiche and had my splurge of vegetables for the day. Perfect timing, finished my lunch just about the same time as everyone else and did not have to struggle trying to focus on the conversations we were having instead of staring at their unfinished food.

After work, I had some errands to run and some things to pick up at the store. Grocery stores usually are my favourite place to be: “romantic strolls down the aisles” is usually what my partner and I call it. I could spend hours getting lost in the land of food. Today? I hated it. Everything was a temptation. It was hard enough that I’m hungry all the time, and to talk about food as a living at work, but having to walk through the store, smelling the freshly baked goods and seeing the beautiful colours of red, green, yellow and purple down the produce aisle just about tore my heart out. I try to head straight for the cleaning supplies aisle, attempting to avoid seeing all the food available, but aisle after aisle, chocolate, cookies and granola bars seemed to chase me… Is hunger delirium a thing? After paying, I popped my supplies in the back of the trunk and walked back into the store. Masochist? I couldn’t handle it anymore, I’ve regretted not buying a single fruit and crave the sweet! There has got to be something I can get with 37 cents (I’ve already spent $17.63 of my $18.00)! 40g of Thompson seedless raisins for a total of 28 cents. Now I’m excited for oatmeal tomorrow… (despite my crabbiness this entry, this is real excitement – no sarcasm intended).

Untitled 2.png

2000h – For dinner, I made butternut squash tofu and lentil patties, held together and coated in oat flour and grilled on the stovetop with a bit of margarine in the pan. Then toasted two slices of bread. Unfortunately, no lettuce, onions or tomatoes, or ketchup, mustard or relish for my mock burger …. just crushed tomatoes and a wonderfully creamy yogurt (I have never appreciated full fat yogurt this much before). Don’t know if it’s the fact that I went to the gym today and had a late supper, or if I’m just so hungry that my taste-buds’ standards have dropped – but I found this meal to be delicious.

Nutrient Meal TOTAL Recommended
Breakfast Lunch Dinner Per Meal Per Day
Carbohydrate (g) 53 27 43 123 30 to 60 90 to 120
Protein (g) 10 12 19 41 15 to 20 51.2
Canada’s Food Guide Servings
Vegetables/Fruit 0 1 0.5 1.5 7 to 8
Grains 2 1 2 5 6 to 7
Meat and Alternatives 1 0.5 0.5 2 2
Dairy and Alternatives 1 0 0 1 2
Added Fats 0 1 1 2 2 to 3

Total energy consumed today: 972kcal (About 50-60% of my estimated energy needs and it shows. I’m much more drowsy than usual… and more forgetful).

Physical Activity: 30 minutes on the treadmill, 30 minutes resistance training. Total steps: 13626.

Really behind on the vegetables now. Following Canada’s Food Guide seems nearly impossible at this point! As you may be able to tell, my food choices are based on the priority of trying to sustain my hunger needs. Hence protein and fat intake appears more adequate than the other food group options.

Day 2? I want to say complete, but the only thoughts that come up in my mind revolve around food, and I want to run to the fridge so bad right now and dip my finger in the salted caramel I had made to rid of the soon-to-be-out-of-date whipping cream that was in the fridge the day before this challenge began….

Leave a Reply

